SOUND TRANSIT STAFF REPORT

MOTION NO. M2007-42

Reappointments to the Citizen Oversight Panel

Meeting:	Date:	Type of Action:	Staff Contact:	Phone:
Board	3/22/07	Action	Marcia Walker, Board Administrator	(206) 398-5015

Contract/Agreement Type:	✓	Requested Action:	✓
Competitive Procurement		Execute New Contract/Agreement	
Sole Source		Amend Existing Contract/Agreement	
Agreement with Other Jurisdiction(s)		Budget Amendment	
Real Estate		Property Acquisition	

PROJECT NAME

Citizen Oversight Panel Appointments

PROPOSED ACTION

Approving the reappointments of Dick Chapin, East King County, Miriam Helgeland, South King County, Bill LaBorde, Pierce County and Karen Miller, Snohomish County to the Citizen Oversight Panel, to serve a second term of four years beginning April, 2007 and expiring April, 2011.

KEY FEATURES of PROPOSED ACTION

Through Motion No. M2003-31 Mr. Dick Chapin, Ms. Miriam Helgeland, Mr. Bill LaBorde and Ms. Karen Miller were appointed to the Citizen Oversight Panel to serve for a term of four years each from April 2003 through April 2007. Each member has indicated a willingness to serve a second term as provided for in Motion No. M2002-87. This action would extend each of their terms through April 2011.

BUDGET IMPACT SUMMARY

There is no action outside of the Board-adopted budget; there are no contingency funds required, no subarea impacts, or funding required from other parties other than what is already assumed in the financial plan.

BUDGET and FINANCIAL PLAN DISCUSSION

Not applicable to this action.

BUDGET TABLE

Not applicable to this action.

SMALL BUSINESS PARTICIPATION

Not applicable to this action

PROJECT DESCRIPTION and BACKGROUND for PROPOSED ACTION

The Board created a Citizen Oversight Panel (COP) in 1996 to monitor Sound Transit's performance in carrying out its commitments under Sound Move. Motion No. M2002-87 established the terms of service for those appointed to the COP as well as the process for reappointing members to serve on the Panel.

Motion No. M2003-31 authorized the COP appointments of Dick Chapin, East King County; Miriam Helgeland, South King County, Bill LaBorde, Pierce County and Karen Miller, Snohomish County to serve their first term of four years each, beginning April 2003 and expiring April 2007. Each of the Panel members have expressed a desire to serve a second term beginning April 2007 and terminating April 2011.

Prior Board/Committee Actions on this Project and Relevant Board Policies

Motion/Resolution Number and Date	Summary of Action
M2003-31 3/27/03	Appointing Karen Mill, Snohomish County; Dick Chapin, East King County; Miriam Helgeland, South King County; and Bill LaBorde, Pierce County to the Citizen Oversight Panel for a term of four years each, beginning April 2003 and expiring April 2007
M2002-87 7/11/02	Authority regarding the terms of Citizen Oversight Panel members
Motion 18 12/13/96	Committing to the establishment of a citizen oversight panel

CONSEQUENCES of DELAY

Timely reappointments of COP members will enable the Panel to sufficiently represent the community.

ENVIRONMENTAL COMPLIANCE

Not applicable to this action

LEGAL REVIEW

JW 3/19/2007

SOUND TRANSIT

MOTION NO. M2007-42

A motion of the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority reappointing Dick Chapin, East King County, Miriam Helgeland, South King County, Bill LaBorde, Pierce County and Karen Miller, Snohomish County to the Citizen Oversight Panel, to serve a second term of four years each beginning April, 2007 and expiring April, 2011.

Background:

The Board created a Citizen Oversight Panel in 1996 to monitor Sound Transit's performance in carrying out its commitments under Sound Move. Motion No. M2002-87 established the terms of service for those appointed to the COP as well as the process for reappointing members to serve on the Panel.

Motion No. M2003-31 authorized the COP appointments of Dick Chapin, East King County; Miriam Helgeland, South King County, Bill LaBorde, Pierce County and Karen Miller, Snohomish County to serve their first term of four years each, beginning April 2003 and expiring April 2007. Each of the Panel members have expressed a desire to serve a second term beginning April 2007 and terminating April 2011.

Motion:

It is hereby moved by the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority to reappointment Dick Chapin, East King County, Miriam Helgeland, South King County, Bill LaBorde, Pierce County and Karen Miller, Snohomish County to the Citizen Oversight Panel, to serve a second term of four years each beginning April, 2007 and expiring April, 2011.

APPROVED by the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority at a regular meeting thereof held on March 22, 2007.

Mark Olson Board Vice Chair

ATTEST:

Marcia Walker Board Administrator