

RESOLUTION NO. R2011-16

A RESOLUTION of the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority fulfilling the requirement of RCW 81.112.040(1) to reconstitute the governing board with regard to the number of representatives from King, Pierce, and Snohomish Counties.

WHEREAS, the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority, commonly known as Sound Transit, was formed under RCW Chapters 81.104 and 81.112 for the Pierce, King, and Snohomish Counties region by action of their respective county councils pursuant to RCW 81.112.030; and

WHEREAS, RCW 81.112.040(1) requires the governing board of a regional transit authority to be composed of elected officials from within the authority's boundary who serve on a legislative body of a city or county, or as a mayor of a city or as a county executive, and the Washington State Department of Transportation Secretary; and

WHEREAS, RCW 81.112.040(1) bases the number of representatives on a regional transit authority board on the population within the portion of each participating county that lies within the authority's service area, with initial board appointments based on one member per population of 145,000; and

WHEREAS, the Sound Transit Board consists of 18 members, ten from King County, four from Pierce County, three from Snohomish County, and the Washington State Department of Transportation Secretary; and

WHEREAS, RCW 81.112.040(1) calls for a regional transit authority board to be reconstituted with regard to the number of representatives from each county using the Office of Financial Management population estimates five years after formation and in the year following each official federal census; and

WHEREAS, the Sound Transit Board was reconstituted five years after formation through the adoption of Resolution No. R99-3 and the year following the 2000 federal census through Resolution No. R2001-08; and

WHEREAS, a federal census was conducted in 2010 and based on the Office of Financial Management population estimates, representation on the Sound Transit Board is based on one

member per population of 164,000; and

WHEREAS, adoption of this resolution fulfills the requirement of RCW 81.112.040(1) to reconstitute the Sound Transit Board with regard to the number of representatives from each

county in the year following the federal census.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of the Central Puget Sound

Regional Transit Authority hereby reconstitutes and maintains the board with regard to the number

of representatives from each county, with ten members representing King County, four members

representing Pierce County, three members representing Snohomish County, and the Washington

State Department of Transportation Secretary as required by RCW 81.112.040(1).

ADOPTED by the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority at a regular meeting thereof held on December 15, 2011.

Aaron Reardon Board Chair

ATTEST:

Marcia Walker

Board Administrator