

MOTION NO. M2017-10

A motion of the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority electing the Sound Transit Board Chair and two Vice Chairs for a two-year term each, effective upon approval by the Board.

BACKGROUND:

Section 2.D. of Resolution 1-1 (Amended), the Board's Rules and Operating Procedures, states that terms of the Board officers shall be set at two years. The terms of Dow Constantine, the current Chair, and Marilyn Strickland and Paul Roberts, the current Vice Chairs of the Sound Transit Board expire on December 31, 2016.

Section 2.E. of Resolution No. 1-1 (Amended) specifies that the Executive Committee shall meet in November of the year officers' terms expire to develop a recommendation for consideration by the Board. The resolution also stipulates that the Chair and Vice Chairs must be from different counties.

On November 17, 2016, the Executive Committee voted to recommend that the Board elect Dave Somers from Snohomish County for Board Chair, Marilyn Strickland from Pierce County for Vice Chair and John Marchione from King County for Vice Chair.

On December 15, 2016, the Board voted to temporarily suspend its rules to allow the election of Board officers to take place in January 2017.

MOTION:

It is hereby moved by the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority that Dave Somers from Snohomish County be elected Board Chair, Marilyn Strickland from Pierce County be elected Vice Chair and John Marchione from King County be elected Vice Chair for two-year terms, effective upon Board approval of this action, and ending December 31, 2018.

APPROVED by the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority at a regular meeting thereof held on January 26, 2017.

Dow Constantine
Board Chair

ATTEST:

Kathryn Flores Board Administrator