

## Motion No. M2022-99

A motion of the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority electing the Sound Transit Board Chair and two Vice Chairs for a two-year term each, beginning January 1, 2023 and ending December 31, 2024.

## **Background**

The terms of Kent Keel, the current Chair, and Dow Constantine and Dave Somers, the current Vice Chairs of the Sound Transit Board expire on December 31, 2022.

The Board's Rules and Operating Procedures, adopted in Resolution No. R2022-26 state that the Board chair and vice chairs must all be from different counties and serve two-year terms that coincide with calendar years. The Executive Committee must develop recommendations to the Board for the selection of Board chairs and vice chairs when those terms are expiring. The recommendations are brought as nominations to the Board at a regularly scheduled meeting before the terms expire.

On December 8, 2022, the Executive Committee nominated King County Boardmember Dow Constantine as Board Chair, and Pierce County Boardmember Kent Keel and Snohomish County Boardmember Dave Somers as Vice Chairs to all serve two-year terms beginning January 1, 2023.

## Motion

It is hereby moved by the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority that Dow Constantine from King County be elected Board Chair, Kent Keel from Pierce County be elected Vice Chair and Dave Somers from Snohomish County be elected Vice Chair for two-year terms, effective January 1, 2023 and ending December 31, 2024.

APPROVED by the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority at a regular meeting thereof held on December 15, 2022.

Kent Keel

**Board Chair** 

Attest:

Kathryn Flores Board Administrator