

Motion No. M2024-09

A motion of the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority electing a Sound Transit Board Vice Chair to complete the remainder of the unexpired two-year term, beginning February 22, 2024 and ending December 31, 2024.

Background

In December 2022, the Board approved Motion No. M2022-99 to elect a Board chair and two vice chairs for two-year terms beginning January 1, 2023 and ending December 31, 2024. The motion elected King County Boardmember Dow Constantine as Chair, and Snohomish County Board member Dave Somers and Pierce County Board member Kent Keel as Vice Chairs. Mr. Keel left the Board at the end of 2023, leaving a vacancy in the position of Vice Chair, with a term ending on December 31, 2024.

The Board's Rules and Operating Procedures, adopted in Resolution No. R2023-01 state that in the event of a Board chair or vice chair vacancy before the term expires, the Executive Committee develops recommendations to the Board for the remainder of the unexpired term. The recommendations are brought as nominations to the Board at the next regular Board meeting. The Board chair and vice chairs must all be from different counties.

On February 1, 2024, the Executive Committee nominated Pierce County Board member Kim Roscoe as Vice Chair to serve the remainder of the term.

Motion

It is hereby moved by the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority that Board member Kim Roscoe from Pierce County be elected Board Vice Chair to complete the remainder of the unexpired two-year term, beginning February 22, 2024 and ending December 31, 2024.

APPROVED by the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority at a regular meeting thereof held on February 22, 2024.

Dow Constantine Board Chair

Attest:

Hans

Kathryn Florés Board Administrator