

Motion No. M2024-82

A motion of the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority electing the Sound Transit Board Chair and Vice Chair from King County for a two-year term each, beginning January 1, 2025 and ending December 31, 2026.

Background

The terms of Dow Constantine, the current Sound Transit Board Chair, and Kim Roscoe and Dave Somers, the current Vice Chairs of the Board, expire on December 31, 2024.

The Board Rules and Operating Procedures, adopted in Resolution No. R2023-01, state that the Board chair and vice chairs must all be from different counties and serve two-year terms that coincide with calendar years. The Executive Committee must develop recommendations to the Board for the selection of Board chairs and vice chairs when those terms are expiring. The recommendations are brought as nominations to the Board at a regularly scheduled meeting before the terms expire.

On December 12, 2024, the Executive Committee nominated Snohomish County Board member Dave Somers as Board Chair, and King County Board member Claudia Balducci as Vice Chair to each serve a two-year term beginning January 1, 2025.

At the same meeting, Pierce County board members requested that the Executive Committee delay the nomination of the Vice Chair from Pierce County until after Pierce County positions on the Sound Transit Board are addressed in early 2025. Therefore, the Executive Committee did not develop a recommendation for the Vice Chair from Pierce County.

Motion

It is hereby moved by the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority that Dave Somers from Snohomish County be elected Board Chair and Claudia Balducci from King County be elected Board Vice Chair for two-year terms, effective January 1, 2025 and ending December 31, 2026.

APPROVED by the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority at a regular meeting thereof held on December 19, 2024.

Dow Constantine Board Chair

Attest:

Kathryn Flores Board Administrator